About the United Nations

About the United Nations

The United Nations, in the light of the reflection of the League of Nations (1919-1946), which failed to prevent World War II. It was founded mainly by organized nations such as the United States, the United Kingdom, the Soviet Union, and the Republic of China.

The Charter of the United Nations was signed at the United Nations Conference of International Organizations held in San Francisco, USA from April to June 1945. Officially launched on October 24 of the same year.

At the time of the inauguration, the main member states were 51 countries, some of which were members of the British Empire and the Soviet Union. As of July 2011, the United Nations has 193 member states, covering most of the world. The newest member state is South Sudan (joined on July 14, 2011).
Headquarters: New York

The purpose of the United Nations is the following three (Article 1 of the Charter of the United Nations)

  • ●Maintaining international peace and security
  • ●Development of friendly relations between the countries
  • ●International cooperation in solving international economic, social, cultural and humanitarian problems, and promoting human rights and fundamental freedoms

To achieve these objectives, there are six major institutions, the General Assembly, the Security Council, the Economic and Social Council, the Trusteeship Council, the International Court of Justice, and the Secretariat, as well as number of approved and subsidiary bodies. Also, many specialized and related organizations are working in collaboration with the United Nations, forming a huge and complex United Nations system (UN family) as a whole.

The United Nations is headquartered in Manhattan, New York. Also, there are offices all over the world like Geneva, Vienna and Rome.

About the Economic and Social Council

The Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) is an organization established to coordinate the activities of the United Nations family, including specialized organizations in the fields of economics, society, culture, education and health.

It consists of 54 countries, and members of the Security Council are elected by the General Assembly for three years. Each country has a vote and is decided by a majority. In addition to many preparatory meetings, roundtable meetings, panel discussions with members of civil society, etc. throughout the year, Every July, there are alternately four-week core sessions in New York and Geneva.

However, actual activities in the economic and social spheres are managed by various schemes / funds, specialized organizations and related agencies and these agencies report and make recommendations on economic and social issues.

In addition, you can consult with a qualified private organization (NGO) (Article 71 of the UN Charter). More than 2870 NGOs have been positioned to consult with the economy. NGOs have special experience and expertise and it is considered as a valuable link between the UN and civil society and the relationship between the UN and the concerned NGOs has been growing over time.

About Special Adviser Qualifications

Special consultative status on Article 71 and 1996/31 of the UN Charter is based on the consultative relationship between the UN and NGOs. Private non-profit organizations that have achieved this qualification will be able to build mutually beneficial working relationships, such as expressing their views at a UN conference.

We are 2013: Receives special Consultative status from the United Nations Economic and Social Council. Utilizing these qualifications, we will provide useful information and recommendations to the UN Conference and contribute more actively than ever before from a private sector perspective to the peace and stability of the international community.

Since joining, I have attended meetings of the UN Committee on the Status of Women every year.